

In this 2023 edition of the SCHS Broadcaster you will find information on the 2022 Academic Foundation awarded scholarship recipients as well as a look at our 2022 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony winners. We would like our members, contributors, and possible new members to see what projects the Foundation has undertaken and the support that has been provided to the school. Included with this newsletter, you will find a membership form for 2023. If you are a current member and have already renewed your membership, please pass the form along to someone you feel might be interested in supporting our students, our teachers, and the school as a whole. Thank you,

The Board of Directors of the SCHS Academic Foundation

2022 Scholarship Recipients

Dr.Robert Raver Scholarship Elijah Davis \$1000

Shannon Heflin Memorial Scholarship Kailey Brubaker \$500 Mataya Petrea \$500

Richard E Crusie Music Scholarship Karley Heiple \$500

Veterans Scholarship Kailey Brubaker \$500

Maddie Finch Memorial Scholarship Sophia Doran \$500

Debra K McCullum Memorial Scholarship Hannah DeLao \$500

Selmaville Education Association Scholarship Abby Cunningham \$500

Marvin Jenkins Memorial Scholarship Hunter Daniels \$500

Herschel and Nina Rose Memorial Scholarship Sydney Donoho \$500 Harry Maxey and Jane Maxey Brauer Scholarship Sophia Dagg \$1000

Marion and Belva Garner Scholarship Macie Brandt \$500

Wallace Science Scholarship Rylan Crane \$1000

Austin Freeman Memorial Scholarship Brynn Metcalf \$500

Ben Baggett Scholarship Carter Rose \$1000

Gale Baker Memorial Scholarship Anthony Biagi \$500 Sydney Donoho \$500

Kim Mulvany Memorial Scholarship Ciara Wuehler \$1000

Bobby Goosetree Memorial Scholarship Hannah DeLao \$500



Hall Of Fame Banquet 2022

Fifth Induction Ceremony

On Saturday, April 9, 2022 The SCHS Academic Foundation Board of Directors honored seven of our finest graduates for outstanding accomplishments in their fields of study. Each of these fine recipients have demonstrated excellence both personally and professionally and have represented Salem Community High School in a manner that demonstrates the wide reach of influence that a Salem High graduate can have on our society. The 2022 honorees listed below were recognized at a prestigious banquet among friends and family. The Foundation holds this event every five years and is always looking for nominations.



Martha McMackin Garland Davis, Class of 1960



Rita Nanda, MD Class of 1989



Mason Jett, MD Class of 1965



Mr. CJ Holthaus Class of 1989



Dr. Martha (Heck) Stiehl Class of 1968



Dr. Chuck Munter Class of 1993



"Tommie" Clara Belle Harrington-Adams
Class of 1939

The Academic Foundation is a non-profit association devoted to supporting, enhancing, and promoting academic opportunities for the Salem Community High School. The Foundation is run by a volunteer board of directors. Opportunities are made available to staff at SCHS for implementing programs in their classrooms and throughout their departments. One of the opportunities is the mini-grants made available to teachers each year. Mini-Grants support, encourage and facilitate great teaching ideas.

Mini-Grants are modest cash awards that help educators make a positive difference in their classrooms. An example can be found in the SCHS Media Center, where modern seating and reading areas are being updated. Teachers or departments may also submit for consideration special projects that require funding not available through district funds. Support for all of this is made possible through memberships fees, donations, and fundraisers.